As Spring continues, so do the seasons of Spring Sports. As many students return for another season of high school track and field, freshmen such as Amelia Kilway get to experience their first high school season.

Kilway has been running track since seventh grade. She ran for Harmon Middle School for two years, and this year is her third year. She mainly found inspiration for doing track by previously doing cross country. 

“I participated in cross country in 7th grade and I fell in love with running. I also really liked Coach Tracy England as a coach, and she was also the track coach; so I decided to participate in track.”

As Kilway made her way up to Aurora High School, she’s continuing  to run in cross country and track. She’s also made many friends and fun memories due to these sports. 

“I was on a free run this season and it started to rain down on me and a couple of my friends. We ran for 20 minutes in the rain and we ran a total time of 50 minutes on that day. We also got very muddy which made this such a memorable time.”

With many more meets to come during her high school career, Kilway hopes to advance to invitationals and even championships.

“One of my main goals with track is to be able to go to a Suburban League meet. I’ve heard a lot about them and can’t wait to participate in them.”

BY: Livvy Frissore

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started